jump to navigation

Real reasons to be uneasy about Sarah Palin. September 3, 2008

Posted by Robert in Election 08, Humor, Politics.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

So my posts here have been silent the last few days, and a few regular readers of my blog have asked why I haven’t chimed in on a few of the more juicy tidbits that have been recently rumored or publicly released by the McCain/Palin campaign.   Of course I am speaking of the rumored pregnancy cover-up turned real pregnancy announcement by the presumptive Vice-Presidential nominee.

My opinion is the same now as when I first heard the rumors rumbling through this series of tubes;  I feel that whether her daughter is, was or will ever be pregnant is non of our business.    What is our business is the multi-leveled hypocrisy that this VP selection has brought to the forefront of this election.  The Republicans seem to be keen on using Sarah Palin to be their Swiss Army to fix what was wrong with McCain’s campaign.

First and foremost (and as I previously mentioned), Palin is not the middle of the road reformer that the Republicans have been trying to paint her as.  Among other extreme right-wing sentiments,  she is anti-choice even in cases of incest, rape and incidences where the mother’s life is in danger.  So let me get this straight, when your teenage daughter gets pregnant  and decides to keep it, it’s a private matter that should be removed from the national discussion.  Ok, agreed.  But why then should the bigger issue of a women’s right to choose be paraded around like a political mace and legislated?

I guess what I’m trying to say is, I agree that your daughter’s pregnancy and how she chooses to handle it is none of my business. How is my daughter’s pregnancy and how she chooses to handle it any of your’s?

I've had one of these since 1993. I can say with confidence that I have had more foriegn policy expirience than Governor Palin.

I've had one of these since 1993. I can say with confidence that I have had more foreign policy experience than Governor Palin.

Next up on the hypocrisy scale is the issue of foreign policy experience.   Why can’t people just tell the truth on this?  Barack Obama, while admittedly not having the most experience on the tickets, has far more foreign policy experience than Sarah Palin.  Sarah Palin did not even hold a US passport until 2007.  She needed to get one to visit her state’s troops stationed in Kuwait.

Here’s a fun video of “Republican Strategist” Tucker Bounds squirming away from explaining Palin’s foreign policy experience.

In other news, the Republicans have been pushing a startling train of thought since the VP pick was announced.  They seem to be trying to really push the idea that it’s only the top of the ticket that matters.   You heard it in that last embedded video and if you’re a news junkie like me, it’s a sentiment that’s been echoed many times since the RNC got off the ground.

In case anyone didn’t pay attention in 1st grade social studies, the Vice-President is actually expected to take the oath of office the second the President is no longer able to fulfill his duties in any way, shape or form.  I don’t care what political party you belong to or who you support, but please tell me how anyone in their right mind could think for a second that Governor Palin would be the most qualified VP candidate to take over the role of president should she end up like the 1 in 5 of United States Vice President’s who have been forced to do so.  That’s not even including the 5 who were democratically elected into the office.  Those are staggering numbers.  I do not appreciate the Republicans making it seem like there is only an outside possibility that she will need to take over the highest office in the country.

Obama’s choice of a Vice-President might have been controversial, but no-one disputes Biden’s ability to step into the role of president at a moments notice. Or maybe there are those who do, but they would be hard pressed to say that Palin would be more qualified to take on the VP’s true responsibility.

Speaking of the VP’s true responsibility, here it is.

UPDATE:  MSNBC just reported that the New York Times just posted a retraction regarding the following story about Sarah Palin’s supposed membership to the Alaskan Independence Party.   It appears the chairwoman of the party gave out false information.

Lastly, it should be mentioned that there is a distinct possibility that Sarah Palin was at one time a member of the “Alaskan Independence Party”.    This little tidbit has only begun to surface in the mainstream media, but already the McCain campaign has come out and denied this claim using old voter registration records as proof that Palin was not a member.  We’ll see where the chips fall, but in the meantime it looks like at the very least her husband was in fact a member of this political party who strives to allow the state of Alaska to break off from the union and become and independent country.

So there you have it.  There’s just a whole lot of reasons why this woman scares me.

But John McCain and I do agree on one thing about her…

Comments»

1. blogoffanddie - September 3, 2008

John McCain is in way over his head, though now, with the selection of his new “trophy” running mate, he’s sown up a huge and powerful voting block known as “the dumbest people in America.”

http://www.blogoffanddie.wordpress.com

2. Dan - September 3, 2008

Hey Rob,

Haven’t talked to you in awhile, but I have to thank you for posting this. I’ll admit to being one of those lazy youths who fail to follow politics, but your blog made a lot of sense to me and gives me plenty more reasons to vote Obama in this upcoming election.

Must be tough to be Tucker.

3. Obamaniac before it was cool - September 3, 2008

Perhaps she’s fine for a state with a population less than Memphis. McCain could’ve made a much better decision had he done his homework. The vetting was shoddy if not absent. The choice was rushed and pressured. Did McCain do his homework? Maybe she’s an anchor or maybe he wins inspite of her or maybe that “huge and powerful voting block” mentioned above is larger than we’ve feared. Only time will tell. In the meantime, get the truth out where people can see it.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/08/31/palin-laughs-as-opponent_n_122776.html

4. Caitie "i use my real name in comments" galardi - September 3, 2008

“I guess what I’m trying to say is, I agree that your daughter’s pregnancy and how she chooses to handle it is non of my business. How is my daughter’s pregnancy and how she chooses to handle it any of your’s?”

I think you just moved up a rank on my favorite people list. I really hope a lot of people read your blog.

5. Kat - September 3, 2008

I’ve read people commenting on McCain VP selection and they seem to feel that Palin will do right by women, especially women who have children with disabilities. Any woman, in my opinion, who feels that she has the right to have any sort of say in any other woman’s right to choose or her daughter’s right to choose, should keep her mouth shut, tight… and judging by the way Palin looks, her mouth is pretty tight, but I don’t think she can keep it shut, she just can’t show emotion. This whole McCain campaign frustrates me, especially when I still read people supporting him.

6. B- - September 3, 2008

Excellent post! I’m emailing it to my family now.


Leave a Reply

