jump to navigation

Toby Keith is a Democrat… I’m sorry what?! August 20, 2008

Posted by Robert in Election 08, Humor, Politics.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback
He'll put a boot in your ass if you don't pass universal healthcare.

He'll put a boot in your ass if you don't pass universal health care.

So according to the Associated Press, that’s right not some wack-job liberal blog, Toby Keith is an Obama praising, card carrying Democrat.  Yes, that Toby Keith.  The “we’ll put a boot in you ass, it’s the American Way” Toby Keith.  The Toby Keith that decided to write a song about the good old days when “Grandpappy told my pappy: Back in my day, son, / A man had to answer for the wicked that he done  /  Take all the rope in Texas, find a tall oak tree / Round up all of them bad boys, hang / them high in the street / For all the people to see.”  Yep, that Toby Keith.

When I read this popped up on Huffington Post, I literally spit out the food that I wasn’t eating.  So really I just spit on the floor in my apartment.  My wife was kinda pissed.  But anyway,  was anyone else on the planet aware of this development.   If you had asked me 24 hours ago who were the 3 people on the planet that I was absolutely positive was a card carrying neo-con, me first, America first and the rest get the pieces “Republican”, I would have told you Dick Cheney, that guy from Jag and Toby effing Keith.

According to Keith’s wikipedia page, he considers himself a “Conservative Democrat” who is “not always proud of his party”.  I suppose I can understand that.  I mean I certainly wouldn’t consider myself a “conservative” anything, but there have been some moments where I haven’t been very proud of my party.  Most recently the whole FISA mess that our majority in congress decided to cave on.  And call me crazy, but I never have heard a good answer to the question “what do you do if someone breaks into your house and wished to harm you or your family?” other than “blow their head off with your legally owned and licenced weapon”.  But I also don’t think it’s necessary to go hunting with a Kalashnikov, so I think there’s a balance to everything.

Also, sometimes we Dems have the habit of being ultra-sensitive and making  it a point to get their feelings hurt whenever someone on the radio or television makes a comment that some may find offensive.  Guess what America, I’ve read The Constitution, it doesn’t say anything about freedom from being offended.  It says freedom of speech.  I’ve always hated Toby’s music and thought that his lyrics were insensitive and inflammatory.  But guess what, I’ve never purchased any of his music either.  If his music was on television, I changed the channel.   See how well that works.

This all came up when Keith was recently quoted saying

There’s a big part of America that really believes that there is a war on terrorism, and that we need to finish up. So I thought it was beautiful the other day when Obama went to Afghanistan and got educated about Afghanistan and Iraq. He came back and said some really nice things. So as far as leadership and patriotism goes, I think it’s really important that those things have to take place. And I think he’s the best Democratic candidate we’ve had since Bill Clinton. And that’s coming from a Democrat.

Wow Toby, not exactly the most eloquent string of sentences ever strung together, but I get your point.   I still don’t know how you rectify firmly supporting Dubbya in 2004 and then seeing the light 4 short years later, but I’m not going to look a gift horse in the mouth.  Not that Toby Keith supporting Obama is a gift horse,  but I just think about the millions of rednecks that just found out that Toby is an Obamamaniac and it makes me all warm and fuzzy.

Comments»

1. McCain/Palin, you sit on a throne of lies. « My Aim Is Truth - September 16, 2008

[…] first Toby Kieth and now Fox News?  I predict this isn’t the last time we see Fox be critical of the McCain […]


Leave a Reply

